This is the "Databases A-Z" page of the "A-Z Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A-Z Databases  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://chaselaw.nku.campusguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases A-Z Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Databases

The Chase Law Library subscribes to a number of databases in the fields of business, government, law, and general research.  You can view the alphabetical list of the databases to your right or choose a select topic. You will find additional databases on the Steely Library Databases page and the Kentucky Virtual Library website.

ACCESS OPTIONS
The databases can be accessed in a variety of ways and the access method is dependent on the vendor contract:

Chase Access - available to Chase law students, faculty and staff.
Remote Access - remote access allows authorized users to access these databases from off campus. Remote access requires the entry of a valid Northern Kentucky University username and password prior to linking to the resource.
Campus Access - access while on the NKU campus
In Library use - available while in the Law Library

      

    Major Databases

    • ABI Inform
      Remote Access
      Search nearly 3,000 worldwide business periodicals available in full-text for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage.
    • Academic Search Premier
      Remote Access
      Provides full-text scholarly articles in many fields.
    • AudioCaseFiles (CVN)
      Chase Access
      CVN offers downloadable MP3 files of court opinions as well as streaming trial videos. Your law school email address gives you unlimited access to this subscription service. INSTRUCTIONS: To register go to http://lawschool.courtroomview.com/. Choose a member in step one and school in step two. Then select our school from the list, complete the form and submit. You will receive an email verification.
    • BNA - Bureau of National Affairs  
        
      Remote Access
    • Books In Print
      Remote Access
      Resource tool used to verify publisher information.
    • Business Databases - Steely Library
      Choose Business and select Search.
      Remote Access
    • CALI - The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction  
        
      Chase Access
    • CCH - Intelliconnect  
        
      Remote Access
    • Chronicle of Higher Education
      Campus Access
    • Courier Journal (Louisville)
      An online version of The Courier-Journal, a Gannett newspaper based in Louisville, Kentucky.
      Coverage: 2002 - present
    • CQ Researcher - Congressional Quarterly
      Remote Access
      Offers an in-depth analysis of political and social issues. Reports are published weekly and the coverage is 1991 - .
    • CQ Weekly - Congressional Quarterly
      Remote Access
      Includes in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up of the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
    • Credo Reference E-Books
      Remote Access
      Reference books from the world's leading publishers.
    • Criminal Justice Periodicals
      Includes abstracting, indexing, and some full text. Includes topics such as criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
    • Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
      Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
    • Government Periodicals Index - Remote Access
      LexisNexis An index to articles published by federal agencies.
    • Hein Online  
        
      Remote Access
    • Index to Legal Periodicals - Print Index 1908 - 2005
      PRINT INDEX provides access to legal publications from 1908 to 2005.
      Access by Author/Subject Index; Table of Cases; Table of Statutes; and Book Review Index.
    • JSTOR
      Remote Access
      Full-text scholarly articles covering a wide range of academic fields.
    • KYVL - Kentucky Virtual Library
      Remote Access
      KYVL provides access to databases covering the arts & humanities, business & economics, education, general reference, science & medicine and social sciences.
    • LegalTrac
      Remote Access
      Provides citations to articles and some full text articles published in law reviews and legal newspapers. Coverage is 1980 to present.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Remote Access
      Research materials in the fields of law, business, news, and medicine.
    • LLMC- DIGITAL
      Chase Access
      A cooperative effort to preserve titles of interest to researchers in the areas of law and history. The historic collection includes legal treatises and primary resources for both federal and state governments.
    • National Security Digital Library
      Campus Access
      Used to access important U.S. policy documents, presidential executive orders and directives, and national strategy documents. Provides links to studies and research reports from various agencies and universities.
    • New York Times - Historical
      Coverage: 1851 -2007
    • Newsbank
      Covers local & regional news:
      Lexington Herald-Leader
      Cincinnati Post, The
      Kentucky News Sources
    • Project Muse
      Remote Access
      Full-text scholarly articles covering a wide range of academic fields.
    • ProQuest Congressional 1789 - present
      Remote Access
      Provides both historic and current legislative information. The Congressional database offers bill information, house and senate reports, hearings, committee prints, the Congressional Record, and legislative histories. The historic coverage commonly referred to as "The Serial Set" contains many U.S. Senate and House of Representatives Reports, and documents and journals from 1789 to 1969. The older files may include treaty documents, miscellaneous publications from the executive branch, and maps.
    • Small Business Reference Center
      The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies.
    • SSRN - Social Science Research Network
      Remote Access
      The SSRN eLibrary contains working and accepted papers in the fields of finance/economics, accounting research, legal scholarship, economic research and management research. The public can access most of the information for free by going to the SSRN home page and selecting the 'SSRN eLibrary' or by choosing 'Search and Download Papers' on the function bar. The Law Library focuses on the Legal Scholarship Network portion of the service.
    • Steely Library - Databases
      Remote Access
      The main campus library provides access to databases and indexes in a variety of fields.
    • The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County - Research Databases
      The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County offers numerous research databases. A library card and PIN number is required to access the databases remotely. Review the library web site for further details.
    • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
      Remote Access
      List of periodicals in print.
    • United States Supreme Court Records and Briefs
      The Making of Modern Law: Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 is a nearly comprehensive, full-text archive of legal documents from the Court. The database includes various types of briefs, motions, memoranda, petitions, as well as oral argument transcripts.
    • Westlaw Patron Access
      In Library Use
      Offers public access to case decisions, statutes, and regulations for federal and state jurisdictions. Includes the KeyCite feature to update your research. There are three dedicated Westlaw workstations on the 2nd Floor of the Law Library.
    • WorldCat
      Remote Access
      Provides the bibliographic records of books, journal titles, newsletters, web sources, and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip